Press enter or spacebar to select a desired language.

Databases

Expand All
107 results found

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts

Description

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.

Books & Author Resources for Children

Description

Resources about children's and young adult  books. Ready to use activities, links to author videos, list of permissions for virtual read alouds. Some video readings.

Books & Author Resources for Teens

Description

Resources about Teen books and author resrouces. Ready to use activities, links to author videos, list of permissions for virtual read alouds. Some video readings.

Ebook Central (Formerly Ebrary)

Description

A collection of e-books covering K-12, career, arts, leisure and life skills.

Gale Books and Authors

Description

Answer the age-old question, 'What do I read next?' Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.

Gale eBooks

Description

Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform for multidisciplinary research.

Gale In Context: Biography

Description

Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazines, and multimedia content.

Gale Literature

Description

Gale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

Gale Literature: LitFinder

Description

Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.

See More

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

Description

Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and more.

Gale Business: Insights

Description

Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports

Gale OneFile: Business

Description

Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.

Portal to Texas History

Description

Historical and primary sources including documents, maps, newspapers, photographs, and more. Hosted by the University of North Texas. Includes years books from Port Arthur schools.

ChiltonLibrary

Description

Provides photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks in one web site.

Gale OneFile: Agriculture

Description

Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields.

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts

Description

Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles.

Discovery Service for Port Arthur Public Library

Description

This Discovery Service searches many of the databases Port Arthur Public Library has access to for any term you enter. The result will list items from our databases, including text, videos, and periodicals. Searches can be refined from the menu to the left, while direct links to some of our other databases can be found to the right.

Gale Power Search

Description

Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia, and primary source information. Library Note, This resource searches all Gale databases The Port Arthur Public Library has access to.

Gale OneFile: Home Improvement

Description

Search home improvement topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.

E books for Children

Description

Full-text ebooks for children from SEBCO. Username: PAPL and Password: read. Next enter your Port Arthur Library card number.

Books & Author Resources for Educators

Description

Resources about children's and young adult  books. Ready to use activities, links to author videos, list of permissions for virtual read alouds. Some video readings.

Gale Academic OneFile

Description

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.

Gale In Context: College

Description

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects.

Gale In Context: Elementary

Description

Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.

Gale In Context: High School

Description

Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.

Gale In Context: Science

Description

Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

Gale Interactive: Science

Description

Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.

See More

Chronicling America

Description

Database of a variety of historic newspapers hosted by the Library of Congress, 1789-1963.

HeritageQuest - formerly Genealogy and Local History

Description

HeritageQuest Online provides U. S. Federal census records and a collection of research materials for tracing family lineages

Portal to Texas History

Description

Historical and primary source materials from or about Texas. Hosted by the University of North Texas.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Description

Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database also has various images and offers brief biographies.

Gale : Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Description

Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more from sources such as The New York Times, Newsweek, Foreign Policy, American Scientist, and Education Week. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Gale Databases

Description

This is a list of all of the Gale databases that the Port Arthur Public Library has a subscription to.

Gale Health and Wellness

Description

Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Description

Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Gale OneFile: U.S. History

Description

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.

Gale OneFile: World History

Description

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

Description

Sanborn maps are large scale plans of a city or town drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street block and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.

Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship

Description

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Mango Languages

Description

Online language learning courses for Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, Japanese, Russian and more. Also learn English with ESL classes for Brazilian Portuguese, Polish and Spanish.

LegalForms

Description

Gale LegalForms includes forms specific to the state of Texas

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies

Description

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Gale General OneFile

Description

Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.

Gale OneFile: News

Description

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines

Description

Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues.

NewsBank- America’s News

Description

Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues, and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including Port Arthur. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Greater Port Arthur Chamber of Commerce

Description

This is also a great page for organizations to recommend to area newcomers.  This will help them get up to speed on what is going on in the community.

Museum of the Gulf Coast

Description

The Museum has outstanding exhibits including historical, pop culture, sports and music figures. 

Port Arthur Economic Development Corporation

Description

"The Port Arthur Economic Development Corporation is a 4a sales tax corporation created to enhance Port Arthur’s business climate and overall economic development. The PAEDC is responsible for encouraging and developing business growth and attracting new business to Port Arthur. Our 300-acre business park is especially beneficial to business in the areas of manufacturing, light industrial and commercial development."

Port Arthur Little Theater

Description

The Port Arthur Little Theater provides a rich combination of area talent onstage at its 4701 Jimmy Johnson Blvd. location. Support this local live entertainment offering.  It has rewards that beat anything on the screen.

Port of Port Arthur

Description

The maritime industry is alive and well in Port Arthur.  Recent expansion of Port facilities from two berths to five with huge increase in transit shed capacity is keeping the PORT in Port Arthur.

Gale OneFile: Psychology

Description

Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice

Description

Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science

Description

Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Gale OneFile: Science

Description

Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.

Science in Context

Description

Provides information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics by means of newspaper and journal articles, images, and video.

SciTech Premium

Description

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry

journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. 

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico

Description

Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.